Lipstick Review: MAC Violetta

While on a lipstick mission with a colleague (she’d been aching for a tube of Ruby Woo after ransacking my lipstick collection), we headed into MAC’s store in Covent Garden for what I thought would be a quick wham-bam-thank-you-ma’am operation. She would just grab Ruby Woo, and we’d go, right?

Nope.

Something shiny and purple caught my eye: It was Violetta! After searching and searching for this lipstick, which was originally released with MAC’s Venomous Villains collection, inspired by glamorous Disney baddies, I really thought I was out of luck in snagging a Violetta for myself.

But, there it was. Before I knew it, I was manically shoving my credit card at the lady behind the till, grinning like an idiot.

So, does Violetta live up to my expectations?

Image

The packaging is what we expect from MAC: simple black box with white text; sleek, heavy bullet shaped case.

Image

Nothing surprising here. But it’s elegant and reliable, which is what we love about MAC.

Image

Image

In the tube, Violetta glitters softly in all its ‘amplified creme’ glory. Even though it’s quite subtle, the picture doesn’t really do it justice. The effect definitely leaves in impression. It isPURPLE, but not a cheap/costume-y/cartoony purple.

Image

Bare lips and bare face. My skin tone is a very fair olive + yellow mix, which can make finding makeup that suits me a bit complicated at times. The foundation I currently use is NW10, but light NC shades work just as well for me. I’m horse of a different colour.

Image

This is what Violetta looks like on me without any lip liner or primer. You can really see the red tones coming through, which is what makes this shade sophisticated enough to wear ‘seriously’. I wouldn’t hesitate to wear it to an interview, business meeting, or – for my personal circumstances as a nurse – on the ward.

Its shimmer is soft, but the effect isn’t frosty. Rather, it makes the lipstick appear changeable, which is intriguing. ¬†Application is effortless thanks to the creamy formula. There’s no drag or pulling at all. The downside to creamy lipsticks is that their wear time is markedly less than their matte counterparts. So you won’t get through a meal without losing some product.

It’s vibrant, striking, and certainly outside the realm of mainstream pinks and nudes. But if you have the confidence (I hope you do!), then Violetta is a great lipstick that can be dressed up or down. I’m looking forward to trying it out with different lip liners.

Image

About AmericanGothGirl

American expat Tumblr addict. Student nurse. Spooky-type.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lipstick Review: MAC Violetta

  1. Pingback: Purple Is The Best Lip Color Of All Time | GossipViews.com

Leave a Reply

