Review! NARS Dragon Girl Velvet Matte Lip Pencil

I am really into red lipstick. Really into it. About a year ago, I bought Revlon’s Cherry Blossom. Since then, it’s just been a mad spiral of red lipstick insanity.

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in the shade called Dragon Girl had been number 1 on my list of coveted items for awhile. After months of hemming and hawing, I finally buckled and purchased it, and oh boy, am I ever glad that I did.

Image

Dragon Girl is a baby-soft matte lipstick in the form of a chubby pencil. Here it is next to a standard-sized tube of chapstick, for scale:

ImageSo many matte lippies look and feel as dry as old crayons, but it was obvious from the get-go that Dragon Girl was going to be less drying. Looking at the product uncapped, you can see a very slight sheen.

ImageThe only real downside is that it’s inevitable to lose some product with chubby pencils. They require sharpening, and it’s impossible not to shave a bit of it off in the process.

Image

Image

First of all, allow me to apologise for the less-than-awesome quality of the lip swatches. The front camera of my iPhone 4S is resoundingly mediocre. Fortunately, it’s true to colour. Please bear with me until I get my proper camera new batteries.

Image

I applied Dragon Girl directly to my lips without any lipliner. As you can see, it doesn’t really need any. One solid swipe gives you opaque coverage. There was no pulling or dragging on the lips at all. It went on effortlessly.

Something that I really love about Dragon Girl is that it can be worn on its own, with a lipliner, or as a lipliner. I love wearing it under MAC Red; the result is stunning.

Image

I’m unabashedly crazy about this lipstick. It is my Holy Grail red. Because it’s so creamy for a matte, it can be sheered down to achieve a subtle blush. Personally, I love the so-red-it’s-almost-fuschia effect that comes with wearing it in full force. Either way, it feels almost completely weightless.

The colour payoff and total matte finish is on par with MAC’s Ruby Woo, but what makes Dragon Girl better is that it isn’t nearly as drying. My lips don’t feel spent after a day of wearing it.

Pros: Highly pigmented, not drying, universally flattering.

Cons: Product loss due to sharpening.

About Topless Pulp London

The London branch of New York's original Topless Pulp Fiction Appreciation Soceity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review! NARS Dragon Girl Velvet Matte Lip Pencil

  1. Must Have Boxes says:

    That lip color is fab!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  2. American Goth Girl in London! I was SO pleased to find your blog and this post, in particular, late last night. I was doing some research to ascertain whether or not Goth’s do embrace red lipstick, (not just the old standard black) and this post was very affirming. FYi, I’m an ex pat Aussie living in Los Angeles. The research is for my upcoming e-book short story, The Voluptas Butterfly. http://fionakernaghan.com/2014/04/23/sneak-peek-at-the-voluptas-butterfly-short-story/
    Anyway, you inspire me to keep writing about my “Emma”, and I love the vibe of your blog. Thanks! Best of luck and happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

