Life Update!

Ooph!

Apologies for the radio silence. My second, and penultimate, year of nursing school has just come to an end. Coursework and clinical placements have been eating all of my spare time, which is always at a premium at best, seeing as I have 2 year old and a husband who is also a full time student (yes, we’re mad people, it’s ok!). Thankfully, my Mister’s legal education and training has been completed, and I can proudly say that I am the wife of a shiny new barrister. He started law school when our little one was only three weeks old, kept consistent good grades, and has come out at the top of his class. What a champ.

I have a seven week placement coming up on an elderly care ward. Nursing elderly patients is demanding in every possible way, but is uniquely rewarding. I’m looking forward to the experience.

I’m also looking forward to going back home to the good old US of A once this placement is over at the end of July! I haven’t been home since last August and am longing for my friends and my family, particularly my grandmother. Being home will ground and centre me in preparation for the final year of my training.

This is my sixth year in the UK, and to be completely honest, I’m beginning to feel homesick for Los Angeles. When I left America in 2008, I couldn’t have been happier to leave it in the dust. After all, I wasn’t abandoning much more than years of repeated personal failures and a string of abusive relationships. I’ll be the first to admit that I was absolutely running away. I sought distance and isolation, to find my own way. It was very much like jumping into the deep end, and it was up to me to find my own way back to the surface. 

It worked. My family and a small handful of dear friends sent me across the Atlantic buoyed by their unconditional love and faith that I could turn things around for myself. Thankfully, I did. I left America utterly lost and unhealthy. I was obese, smoking 20 cigarettes a day, and had given up on my photography degree. I return at a healthy weight, smoke free for five years, with a family of my own and an admirable career that I’m truly passionate about.

I thank my lucky stars for the second chance.

Image

 

About Topless Pulp London

The London branch of New York's original Topless Pulp Fiction Appreciation Soceity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

