Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey: Review & Lip Swatches

Black Honey – part of Clinique’s Almost Lipstick range – is one those cult classic products that everyone who loves cosmetics has heard of, much like MAC’s Ruby Woo. I first found out about Black Honey via my effortlessly stylish younger sister, who is an editor at Blisstree, by the way, and you should definitely read her stuff.

Black Honey gives you a subtle boost of sheer, ever so slightly plummy colour. Because it’s a mixture of a variety of tones, the effect is flattering for everyone.

After a doing a bit of internet rummaging to find out more information about this intriguing lippy, I was struck by two things: everyone seems to love it, and it’s pricey. But did I really want to drop so much cash for a high end product with so little pigmentation? I’m a lover of statement lips. The bolder the better. I was feeling a bit meh at this point and decided against it.

Fast forward a few weeks. My mother came to visit from LA …with not one, but two tubes of Black Honey in tow. Ok, mom! Thanks! I snapped a couple of pictures of the box before demolishing it to get to the good stuff.

photo 3

Pretty box. Fresh, understated pastels. Nothing to complain about.

photo 4

The product itself comes in a metallic, silver toned twist-up tube.

photo 1

It’s not particularly eye-catching, but the presentation is elegant and unobtrusive.

photo 2

The cap fits securely. I haven’t had any issues with the tube cracking.

The product itself appears dark, but this is expectedly deceptive.

photo 3

Now, lip swatches! I applied one firm pass over my lips.

photo 1-2

Subtle and lovely. Even though the consistency is emollient, I did find that my lips felt a tiny bit dry after a few hours of wear. Now, my lips are quite dry naturally. I have to stick to a fairly strict lip care regimen, especially with my love of matte lipsticks! Black Honey caught on a few dry patches, which was a bit disappointing. It’s not a deal breaker, but something to bear in mind. If I make sure my lips are smooth before the first application of the day, then I can reapply as many times as I like throughout the day without worrying about any unsightly dry flakes.

photo 2-2

One really fun thing about Black Honey is that you can use it as a tool to customise other lip products. It looks beautiful layered over lip pencils. You can also put a bit on your cheeks if your face needs a wee colour boost.

For me, Black Honey is an ideal (almost) lipstick for work. It’s subtle and sophisticated, enhances your natural lip colour, can be applied in a jiffy without a mirror, and can be built up to a stronger shade with a few extra strokes. The only cons are the price and that it’s mildly drying.

Is it worth the investment? I’d say so. It’s fool proof and versatile. And here’s a fun fact: Liv Tyler wore Black Honey when playing Arwen in the Lord Of the Rings film trilogy. Natural beauty, baby.

About Topless Pulp London

The London branch of New York's original Topless Pulp Fiction Appreciation Soceity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey: Review & Lip Swatches

  1. I want it mainly so I can look like Liv Tyler as Arwen…priorities? That should always be one.

  2. The fact that Arwen wears this shade was what inspired me to buy it! Great product.

Leave a Reply

